The Alex Morrow series

Police detective Alex Morrow tackles crime in Glasgow, a Scottish city where the boundaries between the law-abiding and the criminal worlds are very blurred, including in her own family.

Two of the books - The End of the Wasp Season and Gods and Beasts - won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award for two consecutive years.

The books in order

Still Midnight

The first in the series and Morrow has to deal with seems to be a botched kidnapping and ransom case. But the deeper she digs the more mysteries are revealed.

More about the book

The End of the Wasp Season

Set against the backdrop of the global financial recession, Morrow investigates the extremely brutal murder of a woman in a expensive suburb of Glasgow. But what is the connection with the suicide of a failed banker?

More about the book


Gods and Beasts

Recently back at work after the birth of her twins, Detective Sergeant Morrow is faced with the murder of a grandfather in a post office raid - a raid he appeared to assist with. Meanwhile a corrupt politician is fighting for his career and the police force itself is in turmoil.

More about the book

The Red Road

As DI Alex Morrow investigates the death of a young businessman, she uncovers a vicious network of power and corruption that reaches back 20 years. To the night Princess Diana died and a 14-year-old girl sat in a car with a dead body, the murder weapon still in her hand.

More about the book

Blood Salt Water

Loch Lomond is a mile deep but the woman's body surfaced anyway. She now haunts the man who put her there. The case brings DI Morrow to nearby Helensburgh. It is quaint, sleepy and seemingly idyllic. But the real town is shot through with deception, lies and vested interests.

More about the book